Print this page
Text resize increase font size decrease font size
zalud playground
John and Mary Zalud family moved their family to Porterville around 1891 and became revered as pioneers of the community.  With a thriving saloon business, and a rumored interest in gambling, the family acquired wealth in the form of land.  Pearle Zalud, the last surviving child of the couple, owned and occupied the family’s estate.  After her passing in 1970, the City of Porterville acquired nearly 15 acres of land north of west grand and west of the southern pacific railroad to be used for a children’s park and rose garden.  Pearle also requested that the land be dedicated in honor of her beloved brother Edward Gorge Zalud.  In addition to the property, Pearle left the family’s home and all its belongings to the City and it later became the Zalud House Museum.

The City moved forward with development of the property and dedicated Zalud Park in 1978.  At the time of its original construction, a splendid and tranquil rose garden was incorporated.  The heirs of J. Claude Nelson were the benefactors that made the tribute to the late Mr. Nelson possible in the form of the rose garden with its various components.  The plaque remains memorializing Erma Nelson’s love for her late husband in donating the rose plants.

Zalud Park now boasts two softball diamonds, a roller hockey/ basketball/ volleyball area, a covered pavilion and a children’s playground.  It is also the only park to offer two lighted tennis courts, a 9-hole disc golf course, pickleball courts, cornhole sets and a ping pong table.

  • 2 covered pavilions
  • 4 picnic areas
  • Shaded ADA accessible playground
  • 2 softball/ baseball diamonds
  • 2 lighted tennis courts
  • lighted basketball courts
  • Volleyball area
  • 9-hole disc golf course
  • Ping pong table
  • 2 cornhole sets
  • Pickleball courts
  • Restrooms

700 N. El Granito St., Porterville, CA93257

Sign Up For Alerts

Learn More